Monday, February 23, 2009

What crap ??

I did not hate Slumdog. It was semi-decent - a phrase that I am using for the first time. Let me relate this phrase to something else. A Sachin Tendulkar century against New Zealand on a flat Motera track batting first. Now how do I explain what I mean? I will try. Most of Sachin's century will be better than this one. Even Dravid's, Sehwag's and Yuvraj's for that matter. But nevertheless, I will stand and applaud a Sachin hundred. Now if someone from the visiting camp, let’s say, the highly overrated Martin Crowe, says this was the best ODI knock of the year, I do not take that shit. If Sachin does not score a ton against the kiwi attack on such a wicket, that too batting first, then who will?


Rahman has been making awesome music. His work in Slumdog is way behind some of his ordinary ones in Tamil and Hindi cinema. I suppose people at the Oscars are musically handicapped. If they would have been aware of Rahman's body of work, they would not have dared to nominate him for such a mediocre score. It's the greatness of the man that he accepted the award. My satisfaction comes from the fact that the so called Martin Crowe 'world audience' caught a glimpse of this great man's potential.


Danny Boyle seems to be a good director. I suppose Trainspotting was a better film. No doubt he will make better movies than Slumdog. The editor too deserved his award. I think I saw the whole film only because of the direction and sleek editing.


Coming to the awards itself, I have lost quite a bit of respect for it. Heath Ledger was not nominated for the best actor in a leading role category. (Crap Pitt was nominated!!) . Dark Knight was not the best film. I want to meet the numbskulls who decide the nominations or have got something to do with it. How on earth can Slumdog be better than Dark Knight? If this can win an oscar, there are many hindi movies which can too.


For all that Mumbai talk going around. Martin Crowe People should go see 'Satya'. It is probably the best film to portray the dark side of Mumbai.

1 comment:

Neeraj said...

Wow! spot on even though I liked the movie. The music is good but the praise it has got is bloated out of proportion. I think the oscars and other award people (BAFTA, NAFTA, TAFTA and what not) just go by general perception..or maybe IMDB (who knows).
Dark knight god level!